Twitter is among the most popular social networking sites that allow users to post status updates.
These status updates can be shared with other contacts and probably Twitter’s entire user base.
If you have a Twitter account and post regular status updates, those updates will be a part of Twitter’s public timeline; your updates are visible to anyone, and your updates may get indexed by search engines.
Some settings can be adjusted on Twitter to provide safety and keep your activity private. These privacy settings can be applied using the following steps:
- Log on to your Twitter account
- Click on the “Settings” option in the upper right-hand corner of your browser
- Navigate to the “Accounts” Tab and click on “Protect my updates.”
- Make sure you save the settings by clicking on the “Save” button
This option will keep your updates private and only visible to those contacts that you have authorized. Also, your new updates will not appear on the public timeline. Beyond this, after enabling the privacy option:
- Users who want to follow you would have to request your approval
- Twitter searches won’t display your protected tweets
- Static page URL’s cannot be shared with users who are not following you
It is essential to keep in mind that all tweets posted before the privacy settings may still be visible in some public places.
A word of caution: even though Twitter provides the option to protect your tweets, it is always a best practice to think and act according to your judgment and not post anything on Twitter that might be used against you.
Social networks may not be 100% secure; there may be leaks that are not known yet, and the information you posted could fall into the wrong hands.